Fizz and Fiction Fun in Hungerford (with Becky Hunter, ex-St Barts pupil from Newbury)

Ex-St Barts pupil and fiction writer, Becky Hunter, is at the Hungerford Bookshop in conversation with Sunday Times bestselling author Georgina Moore on Wednesday 24 April at 6.30pm. The two publishers-turned-authors will chat about writing, relationships and family dramas.

Growing up in Newbury, Becky Hunter has loved books and reading since before she can remember. After leaving St Barts and studying social sciences at Cambridge University, Becky lived and worked in London publishing for several years before taking a career break and moving to Mozambique to volunteer with horses.  It was here that she decided to give writing a proper go, though it was still a few years, a few more destinations, and a couple more jobs before she had the idea that would become One Moment, her bestselling debut novel.

Now Becky’s second novel, Meet Me When My Heart Stops has just been published and is perfect for fans of The Time Travellers Wife.

Georgina Moore has been looking after some of publishing’s high profile authors for years before turning to writing herself. Her book The Garnett Girls was picked by Stylist as a Big Fiction Debut for 2023 and it was also included in the Ten Best New Novelists for 2023 in the Observer.  Set on the Isle of Wight this is a powerful, big-hearted debut of love, sisterhood and what it means to be home.  Bryony Gordon, (who the bookshop hosted last month) calls the book ‘a 21st Century Cazalet Chronicles’.

Tickets are £8 and include a glass of fizz to enjoy whilst browsing books before the talks starts at 6.30pm. Tickets are available from hungerfordbookshop.co.uk or by calling 01488 683480.

Meet Me When My Heart Stops by Becky Hunter is published by Atlantic on 21 March.

The Garnett Girls by Georgina Moore is published in paperback by Harper Collins on 11 April.

 

For more information please contact Janine Giovanni at events@hungerfordbookshop.co.uk

Facebook
Twitter
Pinterest
Email
Print

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Sign up to the free weekly

Penny Post
e-newsletter 

 

For: local positive news, events, jobs, recipes, special offers, recommendations & more.

Covering: Newbury, Thatcham, Hungerford, Marlborough, Wantage, Lambourn, Compton, Swindon & Theale