Nominations open for Hungerford’s Freedom of the Town Award 2023

Hungerford 2022 Freedom OTT Recipients

Once again, Hungerford Town Council welcomes nominations for its annual Freedom of the Town award.

The Freedom of the Town

The Award is intended to promote good citizenship by recognising as role models those in our midst who by their actions and demeanour have demonstrated exceptionally loyal service to the benefit of the town.

Each year we shall consider awarding this Freedom to those, who in the opinion of our citizens, have made a significant contribution to the well-being of Hungerford.

Our town is blessed with many who through their selfless actions have given so much to our community and by identifying a few with this award, we also giving our thanks to the many who volunteer to the huge benefit of the whole town.

How to make your nomination

Nominations for this year’s awards should be received by the Town Clerk no later than 5pm Friday 30 June. Forms are available from the Council office in the Library building or you can complete this online form.

The judging and the presentation

Nominations will be judged by a small panel comprising of the Town Clerk, Mayor and five non-councillors who have themselves provided longstanding service to the Town. Their decision will be presented to the Full Council for ratification.

The Awards will be announced in September.

The 2022 awards

Please click here to see a post covering this event and the three recipients. The photograph at the top of this post was taken at that ceremony and shows, back row Mayor Helen Simpson, and Deputy Lieutenant Sarah Scrope; front row: recipients Penny Locke, Martin Crane and Jennifer Barttlet.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Sign up to the free weekly

Penny Post


For: local positive news, events, jobs, recipes, special offers, recommendations & more.

Covering: Newbury, Thatcham, Hungerford, Marlborough, Wantage, Lambourn, Compton, Swindon & Theale